Why I Don’t Care about Tiger Woods Cheating on His Wife

“It is all very well to say that a man should play for the pure love of the game.  Perhaps he ought, but to the working man it is impossible.” ~J.J. Bentley

Why I Don’t Care about Tiger Woods Cheating on His Wife

While I tend to avoid writing about the petty trifles of pop culture, I was recently inspired to donate my two cents to the debate over the  Tiger Woods scandal. This inspiration struck me when I was feeding my desperate addiction to Dr. Pepper at Publix. I happened to walk through the magazine (and terrible romance novel) isle on my way to the glorious display of DP when I noticed the cover of Golf Digest. The picture (below) is more than a little hilarious based on current events. While this picture did inspire the blog, I am in no way going to try and make any sort of comparison between Obama and Woods. Rather, I’m going to explain why Tiger Woods is famous because apparently the world has forgotten.

Coming from a family of avid golfers and being an occasional one myself, I have grown up admiring the accomplishments of Tiger. My family and I watched with baited anticipation as time after time, Tiger came back at the Masters, or won the grand slam, or won the open with only one good leg. Either way, we watch Tiger play golf. I’ve never watched Tiger Woods play with his kids, or buy milk at the grocery store. I’ve never seen him go to church or asked him about his political opinions. My point is this, I like Tiger Woods because he’s an amazing golfer. That’s  it.

Personally, I think that all the media attention that this “scandal” is getting is preposterous. I was recently informed that Tiger Woods broke the record for consecutive appearances on the front page of some newspaper over (get this) September 11th, Oh the implications. According to our media, we care more about a professional athlete cheating on his wife then we do about thousands of civilians being killed by terrorists. Now I understand that no sponsor wants to support a front man who is representing an image that they don’t like, i.e. adulterer, but come on people. Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t like the fact that Tiger Woods cheated on his wife with 37 showgirls and a circus midget, but I really don’t see why that’s of anyone’s concern but him and his family. This whole ordeal has really made me believe that a.) the general populace of the United States must live rather uneventful lives to care this much about a pro athlete, b.) professional athletes are held to standards of perfection then we’re surprised when they fall short, and c.) I’m really kind of angry at myself for contributing to the bullshit.

The only reason I truly care about this whole thing is because I am truly appalled by the idea of Tiger Woods taking a break (whether it be permantelhy or temporarily) from golf. Imagine if Michael Jordan in the middle of his run with the Bulls left the team because of his gambling problem. Or if O.J. Simpson did something stupid to ruin his football career….oh wait. Either way, athletes are athletes and they are famous for their accomplishments in their sport of choice. I’m not asking the world to like the fact that Tiger Woods cheats on his wife, but I am asking that they remember why he’s famous in the first place.

Also, in regards to the role model situation… I know that parents don’t like the idea of their 15 year old pro golfer in training looking up to a man who cheats on his wife but I have to think that parents shouldn’t let their child idolize a professional athlete in the first place. Maybe instead of being distraught over Tiger’s apparent sex addiction, these parents can use this scandal to teach their children that no one is perfect not even Tiger Woods. Parents, if you need help I would consult any baseball parents you may know. By now they’ve surely mastered the speech on how to tell children that their idols are good people despite their love of performance enhancers.

I know that not everyone is a golf fan and that some people don’t fully grasp what Tiger has done for the game, but trust me when I say that golf wouldn’t be where it is today had it not been for his efforts. So I want to know what you think, if you disagree tell me why. If you agree, tell me why. Do we hold professional athletes to unattainable levels of perfection? Should Tiger be made to quit golf? Do you even care? I want to know.

“Golf is like a love affair.  If you don’t take it seriously, it’s no fun; if you do take it seriously, it breaks your heart.” ~Arthur Daley

5 responses to “Why I Don’t Care about Tiger Woods Cheating on His Wife

  1. I have to say that you do have some valid points, and I think I understand what Tiger Woods has meant to the world of golf, even though I have no interest in golf myself. However, I can’t support a person who has done something like that. The reason is that no matter if you support a person for being an athlete or for being a musician or whatever, the effects of you supporting that person will flow over into other parts of his or her life, parts you may not like, such as adultery. And I would not want the support I’m givig a person to be used to do things I don’t support.
    You mentioned Jordan as well. Although I’m even less knowledgeable about his accomplishments, I think that his case is different, and I would still support him as an athlete. The reason is that him having a gambling problem is much less destructive than Woods cheating on his wife; it only hurts himself while Woods is hurting his entire family. So I think that still supporting an athlete after he/she has done something wrong is a relative issue; it depends on the nature of the wrong.
    Still, very interesting read, and I understand your points, though I don’t agree with all of them.

  2. when i first heard about his marital problems, i honestly couldn’t care less, but then when i heard he was going to take a break from golf “indefinitely” i got interested. is he playing the martyr? dude’s about to lose his wife and his kids, why does he feel he needs to give up the only thing he’ll have left? penance? lousy move if you ask me.

  3. I am glad you wrote a piece on Tiger. First, I agree – that this scandal in no way should affect the public opinion of Tiger-the golfer” – for which we have come to know him for, and what he’s contributed to this sport – after all, his claim-to-fame was not “family-man of the year”.

    All of this hoopla has arisen for 2 main reasons:
    the first reason this scandal has taken on a life of it’s own – it as you rightly put it – “our hum-drum” lives are so boring – we have to look into the “closets” of others to feel better about ourselves or alive – whatever you want to call it – I heard this from hightly educated folks that watch Jerry Springer –the spectacle – makes them feel that hey “life’s not so bad after all – I don’t have 10 different baby-mamas – or my cousin isn’t cheating with my husband, etc…”

    The second, and perhaps more interesting reason for this “insanity” is that we (the public) imposed this image of the “good family man” on him (with the help of his public image consultants) as it makes it easier on our brains to “categorize,” store and retrieve information on the a person. Humans in general have this “need” to have every thing in life categorized neatly as “good” or “bad” – so when we need support or guidance on a choice or decision – we reach into one of these 2 boxes in our memories to help everything to make “sense” if you will. For example:

    “Not only is Tiger a GREAT golfer, but he’s also the perfect family-man”–Thus, Tiger = good (let’s put him in the “good box”) he can support my ideas on life and all that is “good.”

    Where as, if I said
    “Tiger Woods, good golfer, but Bad family man”
    where do I classify him? How can he support my biases?

    Most of us don’t have to make “golf” related decisions on a daily basis – but we do make consumer consumption-related decisions on a daily basis, let’s say – I have to buy some TP – who buys this premium brand of TP – that I can justify the “insanly priced” paper product purchase? Does Tiger?

    All we have to access “Tiger” on as a person is “the bad family-man, cheater” – perhaps I won’t buy this TP after all – what would it say about “me” as a person – to use the same brand that he does? We humans are big on “generalizations.” There are no “boxes” for something that is neither good, nor bad. But this is another discussion on memory formation, storage and recollection that is for neither here nor there at the moment.

    My last thought on this “Tiger matter” is that this is a private matter – that should be kept so for the simple reason that the innocent victims of this (Tiger’s wife and children and respective families) have to be subjected to this public humiliation over and over again –

    This is a cruel and unusual punishment for these folks as when a “regular Joe” cheats on his wife – his spouse and children are given the space they need to grieve the loss of their family’s dynamics in peace, to sort out the feeling and potential courses of action they can and might persue, without bias from the entire world. Why shouldn’t Elin and co. be given the same respect?

    Well, the most interesting thing I heard on why “Elin should not be given this right,” was actually from female members of my circle that not only would continue to support Tiger and the brands that he endorses (if there are still any left), but they also had a rather harsh opinion of his wife.

    Their feelings on the matter, was that this was “par for the course” – if you will – that Elin, was a “nobody” before she latched on to Tiger for fame and money. (I thought she was doing quite well for herself in her “pre-Tiger” days – but what do I know?) So this is her punishment or “karma” for latching onto this “famous – wealthy” young man for the wrong reasons (i.e. not love). My circle of friends seems to be of the opinion, that Elin knew what she was getting into when she signed on for this “gig” and I call it that -as some believe this whole charade was an elaborate act on her part, that she got something out of this deal “farce of a marriage” – to bolster Tiger’s public image and make him more marketable – as a product) that she would have know he was a “cheater” in the early – pre-wedding days – but money was a far stronger and sweeter mistress for her, that she could overlook these small transgressions of cheating at the time- and now that he’s amassed a massive fortune, and she is past her sell-by-date, with 2 kids for extra added “ka-ching” in the bank account – it was time to call in her chips.

    Everyone’s entitled to their opinions – and we don’t have to agree – but that’s my 5 cents worth on the Tiger-matter.

  4. I dont like tiger anymore because he is not a nice person. and after he got in trouble he ran and hid, unlike any other celebrity who has done this recently. he was never nice as a person to the crowd, nor did he act in a respectable manner on the course (ie throwing clubs and spewing curse words).

    http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/columns/story?columnist=reilly_rick&id=4347419

    you missed the point. we should be more frustrated for letting tiger get away with being a sub par role model before he was caught cheating on his wife, while having two children under the age of 3. he was not equipped to be a role model even before this. we shouldnt idolize athletes but we do and this is fact. other athletes are more respectable with how they deal with their personal problems.

Comment!

