Social Media Fallacies

Full disclosure–for the first time in my life I am the proud owner of a cell phone that knows how to do more than send grainy pictures, bits of text, and call people. This past fall I became the proud owner of an iPhone 4 and I have never been happier with a product.

For the last few years I’ve felt as if I’ve been trapped in the dark ages of social media while all my friends advanced into the world of hashtags and filtered pictures. It just wasn’t fair that I was the one who loved mac products, twitter, apps, and email yet I was also the one with the brick phone. But now I have become less unique (not more) in my evolution to the socially digital age.

And while I could just as easily write on the amazing apps I’ve got, the convenience of everywhere emailing, and how cool I look with an iPhone–I think it’s more important that I write about what I’ve learned about these little gadgets.

1. There are certain places that smart phones just don’t belong- Recently Brittany and I were at dinner with some of her friends when we decided to play a game I imagine is becoming quite popular with text crazed persons. The game is simple, everyone puts their cell phone in a downward facing pile in the middle of the table. The first person to answer his or her phone loses–and has to pay the bill. It’s a pretty cool game and a great way to keep your friends/family from tweeting during appetizers.

2. Apple (and other companies) are selling an idea that just isn’t accurate- Don’t get me wrong, I am not faulting these companies in any way, because all they are doing is advertising. In fact, they are doing it very well. We the people are oftentimes fooled into believing that our iPhone makes us a smarter, more well rounded, efficient human because that is the image that Apple is building on. If they were to produce a commercial of two hundred college students standing in line staring at iPhones Facebook stalking each other, the product just wouldn’t sell the same. I’m not knocking the product because it is wonderful, but rather suggesting that smart phones don’t really change our image. The way we use them changes our image.

I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about ways to impressive employers and I’ve come to the belief that they’ll be way more impressed with a silent phone and attentive eyes than an app’d out iPhoone user.

Don't be that guy.

Don’t be that guy.

3. Know what to tweet, and what not to tweet- In preparation for the ‘real world’ I’m doing a lot of revisiting of old social media. Don’t fool yourself into thinking that your employer is totally unaware of your social media presence. One way or another, your profiles will come out. Facebook may have once been a platform for college students to rant about professors and gossip–but it is not that anymore. I don’t want to end up like one of those athletes who tweets something terrible only to have it replayed 25 times a day on Sportscenter for the whole world to see.

All that to say, I’m sure my friends will always refer to me as the guy who’s addicted to his smartphone because I honestly love technology and especially stuff that is as cool and handy as a smart phone. But I think it’s important to analyze the way we believe we’re presenting ourselves and compare it to the way we’re actually perceived.

One response to “Social Media Fallacies

  1. Think I will use that game about the phones at Christmas time. You know how Gramps and I hate it when all of you play with those things during family time together. My rule is going to be that the first one that picks up his/her phone will get to have
    G and G as their house guest for a month. During said time the loser will wait on us, feed us, and take us anywhere we want or have to go. Bet that would make everyone turn their phones totally off for the entire time they are visiting. LOL Love you and enjoy your writings and blogs. G and G

    and foot.

Comment!

